the Arts express our Hearts

Why are we 21st century Humans so possessed with the Sciences when the Arts express the truth of our Beings?

I contend that we belong to our hearts first and our heads second, thus it is rare to those of us here today, in this hyper, technologically-dominated and ego-oriented Western society, to center ourselves through seeking a balance within our consciousness. The Now suffers when I ignore the promptings of my essence to experience life in the moment for all its beauty and its miraculous existence.  Taking a simple breath, savoring the taste and texture of the orange as its flavor explodes upon my taste buds, contributing to the harmony and moving with the rhythm of the music, “seeing” the Divinity of our fellow creature within their eyes, getting on your belly on a March morning to take a photograph of a newly blooming flower – appreciating its brave sally forth into a cool Spring morning.

Looking for the “ordinary” in life is to recognize that stripping away the layered complexities of modern conveniences brings us closer to our own expression of the Divine. Being present to the changing seasons of our planet means we adapt to them. Acknowledging birth is the reverence we hold as life emerges anew, that death has been defeated, and the newly born rise up to blossom yet again. Last fall’s unharvested apples still hang from the tree, sustaining the new life through yielding their nutrients to the creatures of Spring.

How can Science portray such elegance in a way that celebrates the whole-ness as well as the hol-i-ness within the circle of life?  Art is but Nature in mimicry, yet through the lens of those who behold their reflections of Creation, the subtle and the sublime bring us, frail creatures we may be, peace, serenity, and fulfillment.  We truly become human when we embrace the myriad of meanings and the elemental release that the Arts bestow upon us.

Why, I ask, do I have not one, but two Science degrees? All my Heart really ever wants is to be a part of Nature, experiencing Life fully, in all its suffering and all its glory.

May Science RIP, Long Live the Arts!

2 thoughts on “the Arts express our Hearts

  1. I am a person that has always lived with my head in the clouds (so to speak)! It is not unsual for me to be found laying on the grass in our garden watching a beetle or some other magical creature go about it’s work. Yes, I believe in fairies too. I believe that one can never be closer to God than when in a garden or some other natural place. His beauty and presence is to be found in everything from the largest creation to the smallest particle. I think it’s all quite, quite wonderful actually. I hope I never tire of exploring all that I am blessed to encounter. Give me the arts any day over science. Science has it’s place, but the arts . . . well that is the essence of heart.

Leave a Reply

